Arizona Phone Number Lookup

Arizona Area Codes and Their Locations

In 1947 when area codes were first created in the country, Arizona had just one area code 602 serving the whole state. With population increase and the expansion in the number of phone subscribers, the state now has five area codes. Knowing the area codes that serve the state help residents identify local calls and identify the part of the state where those calls originate. They can also identify unknown callers with reverse phone lookup services.

The five area codes serving the state of Arizona are:

602 - Location
480 - Location
520 - Location
623 - Location
928 - Location

Who Controls Arizona Area Codes?

The final decision on the specific areas assigned area codes by the NANPA rests with the Arizona Corporation Commission (ACC). The ACC will decide if there will be a split (dividing a region into two with one part retaining the old area code while the other part of the region gets to use the newly assigned area code) or an overlay (the new area code will be introduced and used alongside the existing one for the same region).

Where is Area Code 602?

One of the original area codes introduced in 1947, area code 602 once served the whole of Arizona. Currently, it only serves a big part of Phoenix. Maricopa County and cities like Phoenix, Glendale, and Paradise Valley all fall under this area code.

Where is Area Code 480?

Area code 480 was created from area code 602 in 1999. It serves Mesa city and a little part of Phoenix. Pinal County and some parts of Maricopa County use this area code while cities like Mesa, Chandler, Gilbert, Tempe, San Tan Valley, Apache Junction, Queen Creek, Fountain Hills, Sun Lakes, Gold Canyon, Guadalupe all fall under the area code.

Where is Area Code 520?

Area code 520 was first put into service in 1995 and it serves Tucson and surrounding areas. Pima County, Cochise County, and Santa Cruz County, as well as parts of Pinal County, are served by this area code. Cities using this area code include Tucson, Catalina Foothills, Casa Grande, Oro Valley, Sierra Vista, Willcox, Green Valley, Marana, Sahuarita, Nogales, Rio Rico, and Tanque Verde.

Where is Area Code 938?

Area code 938 covers a large part of Arizona. It was put into service in 2001. Greenlee County, La Paz County, parts of Maricopa County, Yavapai County, Mohave County, Yuma County, Navajo County, and Apache County are all served by this area code. Major cities like Yuma, Bullhead, Flagstaff, Kingman, Prescott Valley, Fort Mohave, Surprise, Lake Havasu City, Payson, Peoria, Fortuna Foothills, San Luis, Miami, and Somerton are also covered by this area code.

Where is Area Code 623?

Area code 623 was activated in 1999 and it covers the rest of Maricopa County. Major cities that fall under the jurisdiction of this area code include Peoria, Avondale, Goodyear, Buckeye, Sun City, Anthem, El Mirage, New River, Surprise, Litchfield Park, Youngtown, Citrus Park, Tolleson, Gila Bend, Cave Creek, and Arlington.